full papers

short papers






doctoral consortium

go back to HT99 home


The Engelbart Best Paper Award:The Engelbart Best Paper Award: The 4th annual SIGLINK award for best conference paper will be presented at Hypertext '99. The award is named after Douglas C. Engelbart, in recognition of his life's work and contributions to the field of hypertext and hypermedia. The award carries a $1,000 cash prize (sponsored by Knowledge Systems).

The Nelson Newcomer Award: Hypertext '99 will introduce a new annual SIGLINK award for the best newcomer paper. The award is named after Theodor H. Nelson, in recognition of his numerous contributions to the field of hypertext and hypermedia over the past 35 years. The award carries a $1,000 cash prize (sponsored by Multicosm). Papers that are rated among the best papers overall and are written solely by authors who have never published in earlier Hypertext proceedings are eligible for the Nelson Award.

An award committee has suggested candidates for these two awards, and based on their suggestions, the program chairs have nominated three papers for each award.

Each member of the award committee will look at the conference
proceedings version of the nominated papers and will rank them from 1 to 3. The two award winners will be selected based on these rankings. THE AWARD WINNERS WILL BE ANNOUNCED IN  MID-JANUARY!

The award winning papers will be presented in the first morning
session on the second day of the main conference in a special single track awards winners session. Each paper will be given 45 minutes for presentation and questions. The award ceremony will take place during the evening reception on the second day of the main conference.



Jump to Award Nominees!